The Board of Park Commissioners oversees the Evansville Department of Parks & Recreation and Mesker Park Zoo & Botanic Garden.  The Board consists of five members who serve four-year terms.  The Board is an independent policy-making body with a bi-partisan appointment process.  Because the taxing district includes all of Vanderburgh County, three members are appointed by the Mayor of Evansville and two are appointed by the Vanderburgh County Commissioners.

The Board of Park Commissioner's conducts bi-monthly meetings on the first & third Wednesdays of each month at 12:00 noon.  The Board meets in the Kevin Winternheimer Chambers, Room 301, Civic Center Complex, One NW Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville, IN 47708.  The Board establishes policies, financial allocations, and approves special projects.  Additional public hearings and special task force committees are frequently utilized to receive public input on specific projects and community needs.

Below please find a list of our meetings. Click on the highlighted date for the agenda of that meeting.


Watch the Parks Board meetings live at: AccessEVC


 January 4, 2017  January 18, 2017  February 1, 2017
 February 15, 2017  March 1, 2017  March 15, 2017
 April 5, 2017  April 19, 2017  May 3, 2017
 May 17, 2017  June 7, 2017  June 21, 2017
 July 5, 2017  July 19, 2017  August 2, 2017
 August 16, 2017  September 6, 2017  September 20, 2017
 October 4, 2017  October 18, 2017  November 1, 2017
 November 15, 2017  December 6, 2017  December 13, 2017*

* Note Change due to year-end business

The public is welcome to attend all Board Meetings. If any group or individual wishes to address the Board on a special issue, please contact our offices or send a letter and we will schedule you for a future meeting. Those wishing to address the Board of Park Commissioners are asked to contact the:

Department of Parks & Recreation
100 E. Walnut Street
Evansville, IN 47713
(812) 435-6141
(812) 435-6142

Board of Park Commissioners
Gary Shetler, President
Sarah Dauer, Vice President
Jerome Stewart, Member
Roberta Heiman, Member
Kenny Overton, Member

Last updated: 6/26/2017 9:37:58 AM