News Review
22nd Annual Celebration of Leadership Awards Shines Light on Evansville Community's Most Inspiring Servant Leaders
50 awards recognize contributions of diverse people, projects & organizations
Posted Date: 3/9/2017 7:00 PM

Leadership Evansville’s Celebration of Leadership Awards (COL) – title sponsored by Fifth Third Bank – drew another record crowd to help celebrate its 22nd year of honoring the local community’s most inspiring examples of servant leadership by individuals, projects or organizations. The diverse audience – 1,200+ strong – packed into The Old National Events Plaza in downtown Evansville to participate in the special celebration. They were on hand to hear and cheer dozens of inspiring stories of selfless contributions to our community, and celebrate those who have made an especially powerful impact in their lifetime.

Leadership Evansville Chief Executive Officer Lynn Miller Pease was moved by the record participation: “This event is so powerful! The celebration provides an opportunity for our community to celebrate these outstanding individuals who are transforming our community. Seeing that our community is healthy and thriving is what makes this evening so phenomenal. These servant leaders are who encourage us to keep moving forward.”

At the 22nd Annual Celebration of Leadership Awards ceremony, 50 awards were presented to recipients who have demonstrated outstanding selfless community service in the following categories: Arts, Community & Neighborhood, Education, Environment, Government & Public Service, and Health & Social Service.

Following is the complete list of all award recipients:

- Logan Dyer
Community & Neighborhood - James Zelle
Education - Tiffany Ball
Environment - Jean Reising
Government & Public Service - Kim Musgrave
Health & Social Service - Sr. Donna Marie Herr

Arts - Front Porch Fest
Community & Neighborhood - BOSS, Inc. Men of Valor Program
Education - CYPRESS Committee to Promote Respect in Schools
Environment - Upgrade Bike Share Program
Government & Public Service - EVSC’s Randall T. Shepard Leadership and Law Academy
Health & Social Service - Jacobsville Crime Free Alliance
DIVISION RECIPIENT - Fiesta Evansville

- Think Pink Productions
Community & Neighborhood - Youth Resources
Education - The Dream Center
Environment - TruGreen Commercial
Government & Public Service - Evansville Podcast Network
Health & Social Service - Tri State Community Clinics

Sam Featherstone
- Individual Katherine Cartwright
Sam Featherstone - Project or Program Jessica Clark
Sam Featherstone - Business or Organization Boom Squad
Sam Featherstone - Overall Corbin Hoffman
The We Believe Award - Stand Santa Back Up
Sportsmanship Award - Greater Evansville Ball Hall of Fames
The Spirit Award - EVIE
Leaders in Technology Award - New Tech Institute
Lt. Col. Reginald Gibson Award - Jeff Deig
Bryce Jordan Servant Leader Award - Lino and Pam Wiseman
Willie Effie Thomas Diversity Award - Evansville Promise Zone
Winternheimer/LaMar Award Public Service - Timothy Weir
Shirley James "Greening the Community" - Caze Garden Project, Helfrich Park Gateway Garden, Gloria’s Garden at Ivy Tech Community College
Nancy Sieben Koehler Sustainability Award - Jeff Whiteside
Sara B. Davies Award - Jack Pate, InSideOut Music Festival
Trusteeship Award - Darcy Ackerman Ellison
Civic Engagement Award - Uniting Evansville
Outstanding Innovation Award - Evansville Water and Sewer Utility
Visionary Award - AIS First Avenue Campus CNA Program
Susan Kelley Jordan Leader in Courage - Dr. Michael Roscoe
Regional Impact Award Indiana's Great Southwest - Regional Cities
Community Collaboration Award - Ivy Tech Community College, Fifth Third Bank, New Hope Missionary Baptist Church, and Memorial Baptist Church
Philanthropy Award - Alan and Sharon Braun
Lifetime -Community & Neighborhood - Rose Benton
Lifetime Government & Public Service - Ed Lander
Lifetime Health & Social Service - Linda White

22 Years of Celebration
Begun in 1994 by Leadership Evansville, the annual Celebration of Leadership Awards has received more than 2,800 nominations and celebrated thousands of nominees for their contributions to our community. More than 13,000 people have attended COL since its inception, and a record 1,200 attended this year’s 22nd Anniversary event.